you’ll fall for anything…

I dropped out of political activities after Tim died, figured there were plenty of other people to stand up, speak out, do all the things Tim and I used to do.  I did vote, but that’s about all. Then too, I wasn’t happy that the GOP leadership were blurring the lines between the parties, at least when it came to big government and big spending.

“Cheer up, things could be worse. So I cheered up, and sure enough, things got worse.” In the US, things seem to be getting worse by the minute! Not just the size of government, but in the values and issues battles that were so hard fought and many of us thought were won. With one stroke of a pen, many of those values-based victories are being undone one by one.

A few weeks ago I received a call from some acquaintances, asking for information about the Republican Party and the political process, how things worked. They wanted to get involved and needed to know how.  I was happy to share the information I had even though it was several years old, and made a few calls to get updated information.

Since then I’ve had to make a decision. Stay out? Or get in? Into the local grassroots efforts of these folks, that is. I’ve watched them roll up their sleeves, put in the effort and the hours of work, and decided it was time to come out of political retirement.

On Saturday, March 14th, the GOP has its bi-annual precinct reorganization. I’ll be there to represent my precinct and hopefully lots of other people will be there to represent theirs. We’ll see.

