Tags

, , , ,

Imagine, considering how much we depend on computer techology today – if for some reason it didn’t work tomorrow. No computer. No ipod. No DVD. No digital clocks. No cell phone. No television. No radio. No cars. No microwave. No refrigerator. No lights, no sound. No heat, no cooling.

Even if your clocks are the old fashioned wind-up kind, I bet most everything else in your house has a computer chip or two in it. Old fashioned radio? Ah, but the signal is coming to you from a thoroughly modern, computerized station and they get it from some other thoroughly computerized source. And the lights – well, the power stations these days that provide the electricity to your non-computerized gadget – what runs those?

A friend and I were talking about the “good old days” of our childhoods, when Sunday afternoons were spent at the grandparents’ house sitting around their dinner table with relatives, all of us enjoying grandma’s home cooking. In my case, Mimi cooked on an electric range but she still had her old wood-fired cookstove in the kitchen, using it to store pots and pans. A trash burner heated her kitchen and wood fireplaces heated the living room and front bedrooms, not central heat and air.

In later years she did have electric lights, only one lone bulb dangling from the ceiling in most rooms. And she had a party-line telephone, the one set featured in a prominent place in the living room. She even had a table-top radio, and when I was in high school Da acquired a floor model television. Wow! High tech!

But when I was in grammar school, they did NOT have electric lights, or telephone, or television. I still enjoyed spending my summers at Mimi and Da’s and still had plenty to do. I never gave it much thought in those days, that my house in town was equipped with all that nice electrical stuff and their house in the country wasn’t.

They could survive without all the modern conveniences, and especially the computerized “toys” we find so essential. But… suppose a disaster struck and none of the computerized things worked today?

Suppose I had to do without a computer? And the internet?! Or cell phone? Imagine no cable TV! My car wouldn’t run, probably. Could I even find a non-computer-chip-enabled automobile to buy nowadays?

Well, I guess I could go back to reading books and magazines if there was no television. The ones I already own, that is. The library checks you out via their computerized system, so no library books today. Eating – could I still cook? Well, not if the power company systems suddenly stopped working. Peanut butter sandwiches might have to do. Of course I’d have to eat what I already have in the kitchen, since the grocery stores depend on their computerized cash registers. And lights.

There is a multitude of things that would no longer work, things we don’t even think of in a normal day. Printing presses – no newspapers. I guess short-wave radio would still work, but not many people I know have short-wave receivers.

It’s a scary thought. A last-days kind of thought. Makes me want to depend on the Lord more and technology less.

