Castle HornbergI can’t get my pictures out of my camera yet – somehow I managed to leave my USB camera cord at home in the states. But this is a beautiful small town nestled in the hills and mountains of Germany, historical and well maintained. Cobblestone streets, gabled shops, lovely fields and even a castle.

Several hundred people are here, mostly young people. There is a sprinkling of us older folks who I can relate to a bit better. The workshops, teaching times and worship are excellent, the food is good and except for my tender foot (twisted it) I’m enjoying the time very much.

The Mill (where I am staying and the meetings are conducted) has a river running under it. After all, it was a working flour mill in the past. The river generates electricity for the Mill, and the excess power is sold to the local electricity grid. I think they should offer a tour of the power plant down in the basement! I like to see how things work…

Today I was taken on a drive to the local castle and a little walking tour of its environs. There is a gift shop with artifacts on display, including suits of armor, weaponry, period clothing, plus postcards and souvenirs. Several members of the family who have owned the castle for generations still live in part of it that I assume has been modernized somewhat. There is a hotel, restaurant, and chapel there also. There are many acres of vineyards and farmland belonging to the castle that you drive through to get to it.

Carol Ann and Mike Poynor were my hosts for this afternoon. Carol Ann is an official tour guide for the area, so she explained some of the history of the place. There are tunnels under the castle grounds (it sits at the top of one of the mountains) that are a military base, off limits to tourists of course! These tunnels have been used for generations and now are controlled by the German military, but you would never even know they are there, just driving along.

My camera told me “Memory card full” when I took the first shot from the balcony at the castle, drat. Carol Ann has some pictures, however, and will share some with me. The photo above is one I found on the internet.

Buildings in the town of Mosbach More Mosbach And moreAfter that we drove into the town of Mosbach, walked a couple of blocks, had cake and coffee at a wonderful little coffee shop, and came back to the Mill. These images, again from the internet, are of the part of town we walked through. Notice, there are no cars – they are in a parking lot a block away. That makes the shopping area pedestrian-only, which is very nice. Click on these photos to enlarge them for viewing. The tall building is the town hall and used to be a church.

That was enough for my achy foot this afternoon but it was a great time. I appreciate so much the Poynors’ kindness and generosity in treating me to this afternoon adventure!

